Log In   |   Sign Up

Advertisement

Basement of the Dead Haunted House Reviews

 
« Back To Profile Leave A Review »
  • 42 W New York St
  • Aurora, IL
  • 630-896-2466
Details
Average Review
Review Me
Scare Factor
Very Scary
Appropriate For
13 and older
Organization Type
Commercial / For Profit
Listing Categories
Haunted Houses, Escape Games
Review This Haunt
  • Brilliant effort

    Well, I am not a horror maniac and my sister compelled to visit this place. Got a VIP pass and waited in line for just 30 minutes. The 3D haunt was out of the world and it was my first. The zombie carnival was fun and the crew organized it so well. Plenty of zombies in gory costumes and the actors were brilliant and put up an amazing show. The animatronics created the right atmosphere. Looking forward to have a wonderful time again.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Strong stroyline

    I visited this place last Sunday and had a blast. It was never boring at the waiting line for a full hour we had the entertainment on and it started right from the waiting area. There were plenty of actors donning serpent and chainsaw in the waiting area trying to scare us and you get to feel what it is like inside. The haunts were cool and quite interactive. The storyline was strong and the actors complimenting it well. You get scared trying to anticipate from where you get the next scare. The actors were horrifying as well as funny. Being in a horror movie. We loved it and will continue to visit.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Loved the escape room

    This is our family favorite and we regulars here. It was party time at the waiting area. Got opportunities for a lot of photo ops and can also danced with the zombies. As it was a week day it wasn’t crowded and we had time to visit all the haunts and entertainment kiosks. The laser tag was interesting. Escape room was challenging and give a good workout for your brain cells. A team work is in need to solve the puzzles and get the clues. The staff were super friendly. The actors knew how to scare people. They were energetic and relentless. An evening well spent.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Not scared much

    I and GF came to Haunted Hills with lots of excitement. But it turned out to be a dud. Save few scares and actors, the rest was just ordinary. The overall fear factor was below par. It was interactive for sure. But I was not scared much, nor was my GF. A one-time visit at best.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Screamed a hell lot times

    Nonstop attack in the dark! Special effects and set design were amazing. The tight, twisty, dark hallways were very unsystematic and it enhances the fear factor. We screamed a hell lot times. Impressed by the black flashlights in 3D haunt and chroma-depth painting was amazing. Worth every $$ and time

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Amazing experience

    It was an amazing experience at the Basement of the Dead … the quality of haunts, actors and props were all great… the 3D haunt was quite unique… something you have not seen in other haunt houses… it was all perfectly timed with great visual and sound effects…. Do not miss this one… will be back.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Frightening fear

    AMAZING!! We went last weekend and it was a blast. We all got spooked and queue was long, but DJ turns away the boredom. All actors and actress never ran out of energy in tolling us with frightening fear. Overall, enjoyed a lot – A+ experience!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Brilliant effort

    Well, I am not a horror maniac and my sister compelled to visit this place. Got a VIP pass and waited in line for just 30 minutes. The 3D haunt was out of the world and it was my first. The zombie carnival was fun and the crew organized it so well. Plenty of zombies in gory costumes and the actors were brilliant and put up an amazing show. The animatronics created the right atmosphere. Looking forward to have a wonderful time again.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Strong stroyline

    I visited this place last Sunday and had a blast. It was never boring at the waiting line for a full hour we had the entertainment on and it started right from the waiting area. There were plenty of actors donning serpent and chainsaw in the waiting area trying to scare us and you get to feel what it is like inside. The haunts were cool and quite interactive. The storyline was strong and the actors complimenting it well. You get scared trying to anticipate from where you get the next scare. The actors were horrifying as well as funny. Being in a horror movie. We loved it and will continue to visit.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Loved the escape room

    This is our family favorite and we regulars here. It was party time at the waiting area. Got opportunities for a lot of photo ops and can also danced with the zombies. As it was a week day it wasn’t crowded and we had time to visit all the haunts and entertainment kiosks. The laser tag was interesting. Escape room was challenging and give a good workout for your brain cells. A team work is in need to solve the puzzles and get the clues. The staff were super friendly. The actors knew how to scare people. They were energetic and relentless. An evening well spent.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Not scared much

    I and GF came to Haunted Hills with lots of excitement. But it turned out to be a dud. Save few scares and actors, the rest was just ordinary. The overall fear factor was below par. It was interactive for sure. But I was not scared much, nor was my GF. A one-time visit at best.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Screamed a hell lot times

    Nonstop attack in the dark! Special effects and set design were amazing. The tight, twisty, dark hallways were very unsystematic and it enhances the fear factor. We screamed a hell lot times. Impressed by the black flashlights in 3D haunt and chroma-depth painting was amazing. Worth every $$ and time

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Amazing experience

    It was an amazing experience at the Basement of the Dead … the quality of haunts, actors and props were all great… the 3D haunt was quite unique… something you have not seen in other haunt houses… it was all perfectly timed with great visual and sound effects…. Do not miss this one… will be back.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Frightening fear

    AMAZING!! We went last weekend and it was a blast. We all got spooked and queue was long, but DJ turns away the boredom. All actors and actress never ran out of energy in tolling us with frightening fear. Overall, enjoyed a lot – A+ experience!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Not worth it

    We were grouped with strangers in front of us. They were doing all stupid things like looking behind the restricted area. They also slowed us down that the group behind us had caught up. It was too many people for our comfort. The scares were also below par. Not worth it.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Absolutely a fantastic experience!!

    It’s a marvelous haunted attraction! Great use of strobe and florescent paint effect… you better catch hands as you walk as the entire room will look uneven… it makes matter worse as props and actors would jump at you startling the wits out of you as you are concentrated on walking… this was absolutely a fantastic experience… looking forward to coming back again. 5 stars!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Quite scary and long

    One of the best haunted house we were ever been… the waiting in the queue was entertained by DJ with lively music and actors… had photo ops with the clowns and monsters …haunts were quite scary and long. The enchantress was truly amazing … good effects with 3d glasses. Great place to visit. We are looking forward for next season.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Good quality of horror

    My experience with other traditional houses weren’t great. This persuade me to write this review. At the very outset, setup was amazing and thrilling to create a buzz of scares at an ease. All the actors and actress were very scary and never left their characters. Impressed by the special effects and animatronics as it increased our fear factor while encountering monsters. High fives for managing a large chunk of people to avoid stampede. Certainly, a chill-out place to experience a good quality of horror

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Dozens of scares well laid out

    Basement of the Dead is certainly one of the best haunted houses… the DJ music and monsters create a festive atmosphere in the waiting area… once you are in… you will be welcomed by zombies and clowns… there are 2 houses… the first one had asylum looking rooms with dozens of scares well laid out… the second house needed a 3D glass… and a black flash light to navigate… it’s a evil clown themed house. Great job...worth the money!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • One of the Best Night Out

    My favorite haunted house. The waiting area is like a dance club. You will get a lot of photo ops and can also shake a leg with the monsters. We tried out everything inside the house, including the laser tag. Escape room was not simple. We put our heads together to solve the puzzles and get the clues. The staff was helpful. The actors were thorough with their act and were quite energetic. No qualms in repeating their gory act to how many ever people. It was an evening well spent.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Complete Entertainment

    What happened at Creepy Hollow was beyond words. It was so amazing. Creative, creepy and fun. Loads of effort gone into making each scene. Professional touch in each corner. The props were stunning and authentic. Good adventures for kids. The hayride was creepy and it drops us of at the cornfields. The cornfield is a terror field with numerous actors creating unique scares and it was awesome. The actors knew the art and stayed in characters. On the whole a complete entertainment.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Lot of scares

    High on detailed layout backed by special effects and highly skilled actors. Excellent management of queue and adequate time of stay inside the house. Lot of scares and all actors did a fantastic job. Kudos to Basement of the Dead. Highly recommended.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Loved the Zombies

    Had an awesome time with the zombies in the haunted house. The waiting area was filled with characters like serpent and chainsaw who entertained us as it made us forget the boring task of waiting in the line. The show was great and engaging. Strong story line and it ran through the entire house. We could not say from where the next haunt is coming from. The actors were very interactive and funny. It was like being in a horror movie. We loved it and will continue to visit.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

Review This Attraction

  • Click to rate
  • Do not use all capital letters. No profanity.
  • Be specific - the more details the better. No HTML.
  • Administrative use only. Will NOT be displayed
  • Click to rate
  • Click to rate
  • Click to rate
  • I have more to say about this haunt (optional)
  • Would you recommended to a friend?
  • Suitable for families with kids?